We completely bypassed Autumn here in Sydney. One week ago, I was still in short and thongs, splashing around in the surf with Dozer, just as I was back in December. But now, it’s freezing. Let me rephrase – cold by Sydney standards. “Cold” being 55F/13C. It will get colder as we get into the height of winter, but really, the truth is that even in winter, most days it’s as warm as spring. However, this today it does actually feel like winter. As I’m typing up this post, I’m sitting at my desk with a hot water bottle on my lap (nana alert!) with a steaming cup of herbal tea permanently beside me. So it’s a perfect day to share this Baked Italian Chicken dish. This dish is something that evolved from an Italian marinade I use for chicken that I grill on the BBQ. It was one of those “throw together” dishes using ingredients I had on hand, and after the first time I made it I knew it was a keeper.

I like to use bone-in skin-on chicken thigh cutlets because I love how golden brown the skin gets and also bone-in chicken is always so much juicier. 🙂 Most of the time I make this without marinating the chicken in the Italian Dressing- it doesn’t need to be marinated because this recipe creates a great sauce to slop up with the chicken. But if you do marinate the chicken, it makes this dish even tastier because the Italian flavours will infuse into the chicken. You can marinate it for up to 24 hours.

The Italian Dressing I make for this dish is made with thyme or oregano leaves and rosemary, a combination of herbs that I find quintessentially Italian. I use white or red wine vinegar in the Dressing, but you can use any vinegar you have, even balsamic will work, or lemon juice. I usually make this Baked Italian Chicken by par boiling the potatoes and searing the chicken enough so it’s partially cooked before plonking it in the oven to finish cooking. I like to do it this way because by par boiling the potatoes, it sucks up more of the Italian Dressing as it cooks. However, I’ve also provided directions in the notes for how to make this without par boiling the potatoes. The steps are every so slightly different. 🙂 To all those in the southern hemisphere with me – hope you keep warm!!! – Nagi xx

Originally published July 2014, updated with fresh new photos. IT’S MEMORIAL DAY TODAY Just before I sign off, I just want to acknowledge that today is Memorial Day in America. It’s a public holiday, and it marks the start of summer. But actually, it’s a day of remembrance for all those American soldiers who served and lost their lives in service. There is no doubt that much of the rest of the world benefits from America’s defence force. And that includes me in Australia, my family and friends. And you, wherever you are in this big wide world. 🙂 I know military and defence generally is a topic of political debate globally. But I hope that today, all that is set aside and we can all take a minute to acknowledge the American soldiers who served and never returned home, and the families that suffered such a tragic loss. – Nagi xx

LIFE OF DOZER

Just on his nose…

SaveSave

Baked Italian Chicken with Potatoes - 67Baked Italian Chicken with Potatoes - 49Baked Italian Chicken with Potatoes - 70Baked Italian Chicken with Potatoes - 90Baked Italian Chicken with Potatoes - 86Baked Italian Chicken with Potatoes - 12