One thing I love about the eating season - err I mean Christmas - is the endless selection of canapés and mini versions of pretty much every type of food.  We all want to have a taste of every delicious dish on offer, so we scale it all down in order to fit more in. It’s genius really. I don’t know why we don’t do it all the time. After all, who can resist I plateful of doll-sized food?  You’re never really too full to fit one more mini burger or orange bun pop in.  And you can just graze your way though the day. Ok, maybe not such a good idea.  I’ll just quietly dream about doing that whilst still being able to fit into my jeans. The Spanish have got it spot-on with their Tapas.  It’s a shame we don’t really see it in other cuisines. Saying that, Chris and I have been to a great restaurant in Harrogate a couple of times called Deano’s Graze & Grill (no they’re not paying me to say that).  They serve little grazing plates of fish & chips or duck hash with fried egg and HP sauce.   I think I could eat there every day for a year and not get bored. I’d love to see more places like that.  Can you imagine? Mini seafood risotto, served with mini pizza and mini steak.  The perfect choice for those who just can’t make a decision! Follow that up with mini crème brulee, mini Eaton mess, and these Blackberry Spice Bites (did you like how I finally got to the point of mentioning the recipe? - it can take a little time when I’m in mini food dreamland). Looking at it another way, it’s also the perfect diet.  Have a little selection of great tasting mini things and a great big salad.  That’s got to make you a whole lot happier than a giant bowl of fat-free/sugar-free/taste-free diet food.

The Blackberry Spice Muffin Bites Recipe:

 

Blackberry Spice Muffin Bites - 25Blackberry Spice Muffin Bites - 64Blackberry Spice Muffin Bites - 15Blackberry Spice Muffin Bites - 86