Ok, I’m finally admitting to myself that Christmas is coming. So far I’ve buried my head in the sand and made no plans, bought no pressies and given the kids the ‘stare’ if I catch them singing Christmas songs or watching Christmas films (is it mean I make them wait until December for that?). Planning Christmas content for Kitchen Sanctuary and freelance work means we’ve already had the Christmas decorations out a few times in the last couple of months. I’ve also made mince pies (in October!), cooked a turkey, made Christmas cookies and laid a Christmas table for those things, so I think it’s understandable that I try to hold off for as long as possible so it doesn’t feel like a 3 or 4 month run up to Christmas! These Caprese Pastry Bites are my first step in embracing the festive season! Super simple, with minimal ingredients of pastry, mozzarella, sun dried tomatoes, pesto, basil leaves and an egg:

First we unroll the pastry and brush with the whisked egg wash:

Then slice the pastry in half widthways, and place one piece of pastry on top of the other (so you have egg in the middle and on top). This double layering of pastry will give lovely puffy bites. Then cut the doubled up pastry in 20 squares.

and place the squares on a non-stick baking tray:

Bake in the oven for 10 minutes at 200C/400F until golden and risen:

Top each with half a mozzarella pearl and place back in the oven for 1-2 minutes to melt:

Then top each bite with a piece of sun dried tomato and a little blob of pesto.

Top each one with a teeny tiny basil leaf (or use larger leaves that have been torn into small pieces) and serve!

Can I make them ahead?

I think these pastry bites taste best hot or a little warm. If you want to get a head start on them you can cook the pastry squares first, then cool them and place them in an air-tight box at room temperature up to two days ahead. Then reheat for 1-2 minutes in a 200C/400F oven before adding the mozzarella and finishing the bites with the tomato and pesto toppings.

Can I make them gluten free?

Yes! You can use ready-rolled gluten free puff pastry in place of regular puff pastry.  I find gluten free pastry doesn’t go as puffy (if you know of one that puffs nicely i’d love to know, drop me a comment please!), and it browns more quickly, so I bake it for a couple of minutes less. The gluten free ones still went down really well when I last made them.

Other topping ideas?

I think the cheese element works well on these, but you can swap out the mozzarella for brie/camembert or your favourite meltable thinly sliced cheese - such as gouda or applewood. Mix and match the sauce element with toppings such as chutney, red pesto, cranberry jelly, chilli jam or mustard. Then finish off a little crunch or bite such as pickled veg, bacon bits, slivers of beef or salmon.

Other party table/appetizer ideas?

Here are some of my favourites!

Cranberry brie bites Sticky and crispy chicken wings Vegetarian sausage rolls Easy sausage roll wreath Lamb samosa cups or go sweet with these chocolate cheesecake stuffed strawberries! and don’t forget the Christmas punch!

The Caprese Pastry Bites Recipe:

 

Caprese Pastry Bites - 82Caprese Pastry Bites - 25Caprese Pastry Bites - 19Caprese Pastry Bites - 92Caprese Pastry Bites - 81Caprese Pastry Bites - 34Caprese Pastry Bites - 2Caprese Pastry Bites - 73Caprese Pastry Bites - 26Caprese Pastry Bites - 33Caprese Pastry Bites - 32Caprese Pastry Bites - 33Caprese Pastry Bites - 18Caprese Pastry Bites - 96