Why oh why does sugar rule me so. I want it. Chocolate, bread, cake, more chocolate, maybe some jelly tots and then a little more chocolate. If somebody could invent some kind of virtual reality gadget that could make celery and carrot sticks feel like I was eating chocolate and jelly tots I’d be most grateful.

So even though I’ve created these healthier energy balls, I couldn’t resist the addition of a little chocolate! I’ve been trying hard to maintain my exercise and healthier eating since I reached my target weight, but it’s certainly harder now that I haven’t got my personal trainer coming round with her scales every week. I’m still going to her weekly group fitness class - which is helping me to be a little more mindful of what I’m eating during the week. But I’ve had a few hiccups here and there. These energy balls are my way of getting a healthier snack that satisfies that sugar craving, without reaching for the biscuit tin.

They’re sweet and squidgy with a little hint of crunch from the chia seeds and coconut. I’ve been having one or two before a workout - which really helps get me through to the end with bags of energy.

Do you have any energy boosting food/snack ideas? I need all the help I can get to keep me on track!!

Cashew Apricot White Chocolate Energy Balls Recipe:

Cashew Apricot White Chocolate Energy Balls - 11Cashew Apricot White Chocolate Energy Balls - 10Cashew Apricot White Chocolate Energy Balls - 15Cashew Apricot White Chocolate Energy Balls - 14Cashew Apricot White Chocolate Energy Balls - 18Cashew Apricot White Chocolate Energy Balls - 60Cashew Apricot White Chocolate Energy Balls - 23