Every time I stop by my parents’ house my mother glares at me accusingly. Actually, she’s not the glaring type. It’s more like a bemused look that says, “we have a problem, and it’s your fault,” along with an offer to cook me up some squash (she has an excellent recipe) and a plea to give some to me to take home. So the mission? Come up with recipes that we all like and that use a lot of summer squash. For this I have been experimenting with zucchini bread for the last two weeks. We have a couple fine zucchini bread recipes on the site, but I was hoping for something a little more savory. I tried all sorts of combinations, experiments with cheddar, with Parm, jalapenos, etc. Mom’s response to most of them, “good if you toast them and then put sugar and butter on them.” Not good enough. Finally I succumbed to the classic somewhat sweet zucchini bread, but seasoned it with rosemary and lemon, so you get a savory note. More than good enough. Really good. My conclusion is that zucchini bread works well with sugar. Here we use 1 1/4 cups for 3 cups of zucchini and 3 cups of flour. So, it’s not a lot, but it’s enough to make a lovely, lightly sweet bread.