“OMG, that caramel tart!”, my friend exclaimed. “You’ve probably given my whole family diabetes, but OMG!!!!” I grinned, gleefully. “I know, it’s INSANE, isn’t it?” This is probably the most indulgent dessert I know how to make. It’s sinfully decadent. The caramel filling is truly incredible – it’s smooth, creamy, thick and so soft. It’s made using a caramel base of butter plus sugar (for the caramel flavour) which is then combined with condensed milk. Once baked, it sets, almost like a soft custard. It’s different to the traditional method of making caramel fillings which require the caramel to come to a specific temperature at which point it will set to be a soft creamy caramel, rather than runny or hard. i.e. Candy thermometer required. I have it in my head that this is the Australian way of making a creamy caramel. I’d love to know if anyone knows otherwise. I feel like it’s an undiscovered secret because I never seem to see caramel tarts/pies/bars/slices etc made using condensed milk.

This tart is made with a simple biscuit crust. That caramel was made for using as a glue to suction up all the loose crumbs when you inhale your slice! This is how I press the crumbs into the tart tin – using something flat and round with straight walls. I’m using a measuring cup here. Use it to press the crumbs into the wall and a knife or your finger to level out the top of the crust, and to level out the base of the tart.

As for the topping – what else could it be other than a chocolate ganache? 🙂 This ganache has a slightly different chocolate to cream ratio than traditional ganache recipes (which are usually 1:1) so the chocolate is soft but cuttable without smearing so you get nice neat tart slices.

Many readers have jokingly noted how my very recognisable hands have been absent in videos recently. Shooting videos by yourself is seriously hard work when you have a simple home set up like I do. I’ve been thinking about getting a studio, setting things up “properly”. A permanent video shoot area with studio lights, a kitchen, getting a permanent support team and making my life a little – ALOT – easier. But for me, one of the things I love about my blog is how personal it is. Everything that you see is made in my pokey kitchen, the recipes are my own, created by me, tested by me, taste tested by family and friends. The larger a team gets, the less personal this website will become. Does anyone here seriously think that Martha Stewart creates every recipe that ends up on her website, her magazines, cookbooks and TV shows? I enjoy making my own videos, shooting them, editing them. In a bid to make my life slightly easier, I get my mother or a helper to come in once a week to help with food prep, double/triple/quadruple test recipes, and most importantly in my world, help with the washing up. And because everybody has nicer hands than me, I can never resist calling on my help to be my video hand model. 😂 Plus the incredible convenience of not having to wipe my hands and dash around to check the camera with every single micro step in every video! For a recipe like this, if I shot it myself, I would have to do that about 40 times – at least.

I feel like this post is a little all over the place and a bit stilted. I’ll be honest. I’m a bit tarted out. I’m really trying to drum up the enthusiasm for what is possibly the most raved about dessert ever by my taste testers – and that includes the homeless man at the dog park. But I’ve made this seven times in a week and half!! Testing + a couple of video fails. As I said, I’m tarted out!! My friends are not. I definitely did not run out of willing taste testers to even take the ones I wasn’t 100% happy with. 🙂 To be clear, Dozer was not one of those taste testers. No chocolate for dogs!! – Nagi xx

For Caramel Monsters

Caramel Slice (aka Millionaire’s Shortbread!) – the great Aussie favourite! Salted Caramel Stuffed Brownies Peanut Butter Caramel Tart – dangerously easy Sweetened Condensed Milk Caramel – just place a can of condensed milk in the slow cooker!

More slices and bars

Brownies!! Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars Strawberry Bars – made with tons of fresh strawberries! Easiest Ever Raspberries Jam Bars Easy Lemon Bars

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Salted Caramel Tart recipe video. So you can see how soft that caramel is and don’t miss the Dozer cameo at the end!!

LIFE OF DOZER

Checking himself out while I was making the recipe video!! 😂

SaveSave SaveSave

Salted Caramel Tart - 98Salted Caramel Tart - 71Salted Caramel Tart - 25Salted Caramel Tart - 31Salted Caramel Tart - 43Salted Caramel Tart - 4Salted Caramel Tart - 84Salted Caramel Tart - 11Salted Caramel Tart - 85